top of page
  • Writer's pictureKami

Discovering Your Life Purpose



I received a letter the other day that said:


"I was thinking; what is my life purpose? What is your life purpose? How do you know what to choose? Something that seems like it should be so simple seems to be quite complicated to me sometimes."


She wrote her thoughts down on paper and she took some time away to a cabin at the beach. I admire that. I think she took the best first step to discovering her life purpose:


Get away from the noise.


Here's what I wrote in reply:


"I think instead of finding "a purpose", it's more of a lot of little things that add up. Like being self-aware and taking note of what things you love, what brings you joy, and to chase those things because often they lead to bigger things and opportunities. And the times that they don't, you will still be left living a life that you love (Ecclesiastes says a lot on this & I love it.) and in that state of whole-hearted living we can be our best selves and blessing to those around us.


When we are true to ourselves and loving ourselves, only then can we truly love others,


and loving others is true success.


I feel like I find my life purpose in the lifestyle, projects, art, people, you-name-it where I feel the most alive, because great things happen when you feel alive.

It's almost as if I can feel God guiding me when I feel that familiar pulse of life and joy.


It makes me think: "This is where I'm supposed to be! This is my life purpose, and better yet, I know it's leading me to greater ones I don't know about yet!"


And you stay on that path. Because who knows where it will lead and what great things are next?


I saw a quote the other day that said, "If you are not excited about it, it's not the right path."


I don't think finding your life purpose is a one-time-discovery.

It changes over time.


And you may have many purposes and goals.


The trick is to notice that sweet spot of what things you love, what brings peace, joy, growth, meaning and excitement into your life. Chase after THAT- and purpose comes.

God gave you these desires and joys specific to you, so if we are still enough to notice what they are and brave enough to go after them, one step at a time,


good things will come."

78 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page